Derwent Reservoir was opened in 1916., four years after the first reservoir, Howden Reservoir. Piped intakes from the rivers Ashop and Alport fed directly into the Derwent Reservoir but soon increased demand led to the building of a third and larger water supply - Ladybower Reservoir.
The centre is a joint venture between the Peak District National Park Authority and Severn Trent Water and forms part of a visitor complex including cycle hire, refreshment kiosk and ranger services. Can accommodate wheelchair users and has disabled toilet facilities adjacent to the centre. Visitors can explore the fascinating history of the valley, take part in the range of activities available or just enjoy the refreshments. Just 500 metres from Derwent Dam.